Richard M. Clurman Award

Accepting Nominations

Have you had an outstanding mentor in your career? To nominate an exceptional on-the-job mentor complete the Nomination Form and email it to us: Deadline to email nominations is February 1, 2016.


The Richard M. Clurman Award honors superb on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by exemplifying excellence in nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. The award is named after the Chief of Correspondents of the Time-Life Service (1960–1969) and architect of the Livingston Awards.


The Award for 2015

On June 1, 2015, Livingston judge Ken Auletta of The New Yorker, presented Tom Brokaw with the Richard M. Clurman Award. "He calls his newly released book 'A Lucky Life.' But Brokaw wasn't just lucky, he was comfortable in his own skin, which helped make him a great mentor," said Auletta. "He did not think someone else's success subtracted from his own."

Tom Brokaw video
Click to view video

At the luncheon, Brokaw described the best form of mentoring as a two-way exchange. Remembering the 2:30 meetings at NBC News, he said, "Others would push back and between us we would find what we thought was the important part of the news of the day."
As all of this year's winner's represented new forms of journalism, Brokaw offered, "The Livingstons is an occassion to celebrate those without the resources that the rest of us in mainstream journalism have and we need to remind them that we're there behind them." Watch more


The Richard M. Clurman Legacy

Richard Clurman
Richard M. Clurman

Behind everyone who achieves something very important, very early, is an older someone who critiques, applauds, knows the ropes and maybe pulls a string. Richard M. Clurman was such a man, whose career at Time included the posts of Chief of Correspondents and head of the Time-Life News Service. Clurman oversaw a staff of 105 reporters, including those stationed in 34 cities abroad.

Clurman helped Mollie Parnis Livingston establish the Livingston Awards and was a founding member of the Foundation's board. When he died in May 1996, the Board and its panel of judges quickly decided to memorialize him with a new prize. Equally easily, they decided that he should be remembered as a superb, on-the-job mentor.