Judges : National

Raney Aronson-Rath

Raney Aronson-Rath

Deputy Executive Producer, "Frontline," PBS

Raney Aronson-Rath guides the editorial development and execution of the PBS flagship public affairs documentary series "Frontline." She oversees story development and production as well as a new monthly magazine program.

Aronson-Rath has led a number of new experimental projects exploring innovative uses of the Web and cross-platform collaborations. The documentary, "Post Mortem," an inquiry into death investigations in America, was a coordinated multiplatform reporting effort by Frontline, ProPublica and NPR, along with UC Berkeley's Investigative Reporting Program and California Watch. The report spanned Web, radio, print and television platforms.

Prior to being named senior producer in 2007, Aronson-Rath produced, directed and wrote six full-length "Frontline" documentaries: News War: Secrets, Sources & Spin (2007); The Last Abortion Clinic (2005); The Soldier's Heart (2005); The Jesus Factor (2004); and The Alternative Fix, (2003); as well as three “Frontline/World” stories based in India and Hong Kong. Her story on AIDS among India's sex workers, won an Overseas Press Club Award. She is also the 2005 inaugural recipient of the Peter S. McGhee Fellowship from WGBH.

Previous to her work with “Frontline,” Aronson-Rath worked on a number of award-winning series at ABC News, including “Hopkins 24/7,” which won the duPont-Columbia Silver Baton, among other awards. She was coordinating producer on the award-winning ABC primetime series “Boston 24/7” and a field producer on a number of award-winning specials from the Peter Jennings Reporting unit. Aronson-Rath also lived and worked as a reporter for The China Post in Taipei, Taiwan for two years. She has been awarded the Kaiser Family Foundation's 2001-2002 media fellowship, a Sundance Documentary Fund grant (2002), a New York State Council on the Arts grant (2002) and an International Reporting Project Fellowship in 2000.

She is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin and the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.